A Trio of Women Scholars Honored With Notable Awards

WirthDyann Wirth, the Richard Pearson Strong Professor of Infectious Diseases and chair of the department of immunology and infectious diseases at the Harvard School of Public Health, received the Joseph Augustin LePrince Medal for “outstanding work in the field of malariology” from the American Society of Tropical Medicine.

Dr. Wirth holds a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

StambaughTamra Stambaugh, a research assistant professor of special education at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, received the Early Leader Award from the National Association for Gifted Children. Dr. Stambaugh, who joined the Vanderbilt faculty in 2008, is also the executive director of the university’s Programs for Talented Youth. She is the co-author of Serving Gifted Students in Rural Settings (Prufrock Press, 2015).

Dr. Stambaugh is a graduate of Mount Vernon Nazarene University in Ohio. She holds a master’s degree from Ohio University and a Ph.D. in educational policy, planning, and leadership from the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Sarah_ParcakSarah Parcak, an associate professor of anthropology at the University of Alabama-Birmingham, has been selected to receive the Premio Europeo Capo Circeo Award from the Association of German-Italian Friendship. The award is presented to individuals whose work contributes to “the promotion of the cultural, scientific, social, and political heritage of European nations.” Dr. Parcak  was honored for her work discovering ancient archaeological sites using satellite imagery.

Dr. Parcak is a graduate of Yale University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in archaeology from the University of Cambridge in England.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply