Four Women Scholars Honored With Prestigious Awards

chancellor-katehi-2014-portraitLinda P.B. Katehi, chancellor of the University of California, Davis, received the Simon Ramo Founders Award from the National Academy of Engineering. The award honors an “extraordinary impact on the engineering profession” and “leadership in engineering research and education. Dr. Katehi is the first woman to win this award since its establishment in 1965.

Dr. Katehi has been a professor of electrical and computer engineering and chancellor at the University of California, Davis since 2009. Previously, she was provost at the University of Illinois. Professor Katehi is a graduate of the National Technical University of Athens in Greece. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Randolph_mugGwendalyn J. Randolph, director of the Division of Immunology at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, was named a recipient of a 2015 Director’s Pioneer Award from the National Institutes of Health. Her research is focused on the study of Crohn’s disease.

Dr. Randolph joined the faculty at Washington University in 2011. Previously, she taught at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York. Dr. Randolph earned a Ph.D. at Stony Brook University of the State University of New York System.

margulisElizabeth Hellmuth Margulis, a professor of music and director of the Music Cognition Library at the University of Arkansas, has been selected to receive the Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Award from the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers Foundation. Professor Margulis is being honored for her book On Repeat: How Music Plays the Mind (Oxford University Press, 2013). Professor Margulis will receive the award in New York on November 17.

Dr. Margulis holds a bachelor’s degree in piano performance from the Peabody Conservatory of Music of Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. She earned a Ph.D. at Columbia University.

boisseau-michelleMichelle Boisseau, professor of English at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, was named the winner of the 2015 Tampa Review Prize for Poetry. The prize is given to a previously unpublished collection of poetry. Professor Boisseau will receive a cash award and her collection Among the Gorgons, will be published by the University of Tampa Press in 2016. Previous collections authored by Professor Boisseau include Trembling Air (University of Arkansas Press, 2003) and Understory (Northeastern, 1996).

Professor Boisseau joined the faculty at the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1995. She is a graduate of Ohio University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Houston.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply