Five Women Scholars Selected to Receive Notable Awards

GlimcherLaurie H. Glimcher, the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, received the Steven C. Beering Award from the Indiana University School of Medicine. The award recognizes an internationally renowned scientist whose research has advanced biomedical or clinical science. The award includes a $25,000 prize.

Dr. Glimcher has been dean at Cornell Medical College since January 2012. Previously, she was the Irene Heinz Given Professor of Immunology at the Harvard School of Public Health, and professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Glimcher received her B.A. degree from Radcliffe College and her M.D. from Harvard Medical School.

Cumming.Twyla_.jpgTwyla J. Cummings, senior associate dean of the College of Imaging Arts and Sciences at the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York, has been selected to receive the 2015 Naomi Berber Memorial Award from Printing Industries of America. The award honors outstanding women for exceptional contributions in the graphics communications industry.

Dr. Cummings holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and a master’s degree in business and industrial management from Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. She earned a Ph.D. in business management from the Union Institute and University in Cincinnati.

Brenda Y. Cartwright, professor of rehabilitation counseling at Winston-Salem State University in North Carolina, received the Vernon E. Hawkins Pioneer and Leadership Award from the National Association of Multicultural Rehabilitation Concerns.

Dr. Cartwright joined the faculty at Winston-Salem State in 2012. Previously, she taught at the University of Hawaii and Coppin State University in Baltimore. Professor Cartwright is a graduate of McDaniel College in Maryland. She holds a master’s degree in guidance and counseling from the University of Michigan and an educational doctorate from George Washington University in the nation’s capital.

mcgeorge_christineChristi McGeorge, professor of human development and family science at North Dakota State University in Fargo, has been selected to receive the 2015 Kathleen Briggs Outstanding Mentor Award from the National Council on Family Relations. She will be honored at the council’s annual meeting in Vancouver this November.

Dr. McGeorge joined the faculty at North Dakota State in 2003 and was promoted to full professor this year. She is a graduate of the University of Arizona and holds a master’s degree from Colorado State University and a Ph.D. in family social science from the University of Minnesota.

AnneDePrinceWAnne DePrince, professor and chair of the department of psychology and director of the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning at the University of Denver, received the 2015 Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award from Campus Compact. The organization has nearly 1,100 member institutions who are committed to campus-based civic engagement.

Dr. DePrince is a graduate of Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, where she majored in psychology and history. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Oregon.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply