Eight Women Professors Honored With Prestigious Awards

duaPrerna Dua, an associate professor of health informatics and information management at Louisiana Tech University in Rushton, received the Triumph Award for research from the American Health Information Management Association.

Dr. Dua holds a Ph.D. in computational analysis and modeling from Louisiana Tech.

kalogeraVicky Kalogera, the Erastus O. Haven Professor and associate chair of the department of physics and astronomy at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, has been chosen to receive the 2016 Hans A. Bethe Prize from the American Physical Society. Professor Kalogera will be honored at the society’s annual meeting in April.

Dr. Kalogera is a graduate of the University of Thessaloniki in Greece. She holds a Ph.D. in astronomy from the University of Illinois. Professor Kalogera joined the faculty at Northwestern University in 2001.

Anna BalazsAnna C. Balazs, a Distinguished Professor in the department of chemical and petroleum engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, was named the winner of the 2016 Polymer Physics Prize from the American Physical Society. She will receive the prize and a $10,000 award at the society’s annual meeting in March.

Professor Balazs is a graduate of Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania, where she majored in physics. She holds a Ph.D. in materials science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

allison-doupeThe late Allison Doupe, who was a professor of neuroscience and assistant director of the Women’s Mood and Hormone Clinic at the University of California, San Francisco, is being honored posthumously with the Patricia Goldman-Rakic Hall of Honor Award from the Society of Neuroscience.

Professor Doupe was a graduate of McGill University in Montreal. She earned a medical degree and a Ph.D. in neurobiology from Harvard University.

brenda_major (1)Brenda Major, a professor of psychological and brain sciences at the University of California, Santa Barbara, has been selected as the winner of the 2015 Donald T. Campbell Award in Social Psychology from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology.

Professor Major joined the faculty at the University of California, Santa Barbara in 1995 after teaching at the University at Buffalo of the State University of New York System. She holds a master’s degree from Miami University and a Ph.D. from Purdue University.

AloiaLindsey Aloia, an assistant professor of communication at the University of Arkansas, will receive the Sandra Petronio Family Communication Dissertation Award from the National Communication Association. Dr. Aloia will be honored on November 20 at the association’s annual convention in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Dr. Aloia is a graduate of the College of New Jersey in Ewing Township. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Delaware and a doctorate from Pennsylvania State University.

naegeleJanice Naegele, professor of biology and professor of neuroscience and behavior at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut, received the Louise Hansen Marshall Special Recognition Award at the annual meeting of the Society for Neuroscience. The award recognizes efforts to promote professional development for women in neuroscience.

Professor Naegele is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Massachusetts. She earned a Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

burgessAnn Wolbert Burgess, a professor in the School of Nursing at Boston College, received the 2015 Outstanding Professional Award from the American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children. She also won this award in 1992.

Professor Burgess holds a bachelor’s degree and a doctor of nursing science degree from Boston University. She also earned a master’s degree from the University of Maryland.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply