Four Women Faculty Members Honored With Notable Awards

yelickKatherine A. Yelick, a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Berkeley, was selected to receive the Ken Kennedy Award from the Association for Computing Machinery and the IEEE Computer Society. The award will be presented this November at the International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis in Austin, Texas.

Professor Yelick holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering and computer sciences, all from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Lundquist, Jennifer _1Jennifer H. Lundquist, a professor of sociology and associate dean of research and faculty development in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Massachusetts, is the inaugural recipient of the Excellence in Research on Military and Veterans Families Award. The award is presented by the Military Family Research Institute at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Dr. Lunquist has been on the faculty at the University of Massachusetts since 2005 and was promoted to full professor this year. She is a graduate of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology and demography from the University of Pennsylvania.

Kolosov-Jacqueline-medJacqueline Kolosov, a professor of English at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, received the Mary Roberts Rinehart Award from Stillhouse Press in Fairfax, Virginia. Professor Kolosov was honored for her collection of essays entitled Motherhood, and the Places Between.

Professor Kolosov holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Chicago and a Ph.D. from New York University.

McDaniel-headshot-280x320-263x300Sara McDaniel, assistant professor of special education at the University of Alabama, has been selected to receive the 2016 E.G. “Ted” Carr Initial Researcher Award from the Association for Positive Behavior Support. Dr. McDaniel will be honored at the groups annual conference in San Francisco next March.

Dr. McDaniel is a graduate of Elon University in North Carolina. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in special education from Georgia State University in Atlanta.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply