Notable Honors for Women Scholars at Five Universities

Annette-PridgenAnnette K. Pridgen, an assistant professor of accounting at Jackson State University in Mississippi, received the 2015 Cornelius E. Tierney/Ernst & Young Research Award from the Association of Government Accountants. She was honored for “outstanding leadership, accomplishments, and service to the profession and communities.”

Dr. Pridgen has been on the faculty at Jackson State University since 2013. Previously, she taught at the University of Mississippi. A certified public accountant, Dr. Pridgen holds a Ph.D. from the University of Mississippi.

anntaylorBethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach, Florida, has renamed its historic general studies building in honor of Ann Taylor Green. The building is the former McLeod Hospital, which operated from 1915 to 1949. Dr. Green was employed by the university for 38 years as an instructor, provost, and vice president. She is now provost emerita.

Dr. Green is a graduate of Talladega College in Alabama. She holds a master’s degree in mathematics education from North Carolina A&T State University in Greensboro and a doctorate in educational administration from American University in Washington, D.C.

Morton_Sally_CSally C. Morton, professor and chair of the department of biostatistics in the Graduate School of Public Health at the University of Pittsburgh, received the Founders Award from the American Statistical Association. The award honors services to the organization and its membership.

Professor Morton joined the faculty at the University of Pittsburgh in 2010. She is a graduate of Stanford University, where she majored in mathematical sciences. She earned a master’s degree in statistics from the London School of Economics and Political Science and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in statistics from Stanford University.

Cara NelsonCara Nelson, an associate professor of restoration ecology at the University of Montana, received the John Rieger Award from the Society of Ecological Restoration.

Dr. Nelson is a graduate of Evergreen State College in Olympia, Washington. She holds two master’s degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a Ph.D. in forest ecosystem analysis from the University of Washington.

Chisholm-BurnsMarie Chisholm-Burns, professor and dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, has been presented with the Chauncey I. Cooper Award from the National Pharmaceutical Association. The award recognizes “sustained and distinguished service to the profession of pharmacy.”

Dr. Chisholm-Burns has been dean at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center since 2012. She holds a bachelor’s degree and a pharmacy doctorate from the University of Georgia. She also earned a master of public health degree from Emory University in Atlanta and an MBA from the University of Memphis.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply