Six Women Scholars Presented With Major Awards

bar-nadavHadara Bar-Nadav, an associate professor of English at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, won the 2015 Sunken Garden Chapbook Prize from the Hill-Stead Museum in Farmington, Connecticut. She is being honored for her newest collection of poetry, Fountain and Furnace (Tupelo Press, 2015).

Dr. Bar-Nadav is a graduate of William Paterson University in Wayne, New Jersey. She earned a master’s degree at Montclair State University in New Jersey and a Ph.D. at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Dr.-Nanette-SantoroNanette Santoro, who holds the E. Stewart Taylor Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Colorado at Denver, has been selected to receive the Outstanding Mentor Award from the Endocrine Society. She will be honored at the society’s annual meeting in Boston next April.

Dr. Santoro, an expert on infertility and ovarian aging, received her medical degree at Albany Medical College.

Amy H. Sturgis, an adjunct instructor in liberal studies at Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, North Carolina, received the award for the best magazine article from the Los Angeles Press Club. She was honored for her piece, “Not Your Parent’s Dystopias: Millennial Fondness for Worlds Gone Wrong.” The article was published in Reason magazine.

Dr. Sturgis is a graduate of Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in intellectual history from Vanderbilt University, also in Nashville. Her latest book is Tecumseh: A Biography (Greenwood Press, 2008).

Chisholm-BurnsMarie Chisholm-Burns, dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, received the Paul R. Dawson Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. Dr. Chisholm-Burns was honored for her research relating to health services delivery and patient outcomes.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns holds a bachelor’s degree and a doctorate of pharmacy degree from the University of Georgia. She earned an MBA at the University of Memphis and a master of public health degree from Emory University in Atlanta.

amy-gladfelterAmy S. Gladfelter, an associate professor of biological sciences at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, has been selected to receive the Women in Cell Biology Mid-Career Award for Excellence in Research from the American Society of Cell Biology. She will be honored at the society annual meeting in San Diego this December.

Dr. Gladfelter joined the Dartmouth faculty in 2006. She is a graduate of Princeton University in New Jersey and earned a Ph.D. in genetics from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina.

Bowyer4webPatricia Bowyer, a professor at the Institute of Health Sciences of Texas Woman’s University in Houston, received the 2015 A. Jean Ayres Research Award from the American Occupational Therapy Association. Professor Bowyer joined the faculty at the university in 2007.

Dr. Bowyer is a graduate of Milligan College in Tennessee. She holds a master’s degree in occupational therapy from Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond and a doctorate in educational leadership from East Tennessee State University in Johnson City.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply