Seven Women Appointed to Endowed Chairs at American Universities

MIT Political Science Web UpdateAndrea Louise Campbell was appointed the Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor and chair of the department of political science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She joined the faculty at MIT in 2005. Professor Campbell is the author of several books including Trapped in America’s Safety Net: One Family’s Struggle (University of Chicago Press, 2014).

Dr. Campbell is a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard University, where she majored in social studies. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in political science from the University of California, Berkeley.

main-galvani_1Alison P. Galvani was appointed the Burnett and Stender Families Professor of Public Health at Yale University. At age 38, she is the youngest person to ever be named to an endowed chair at the Yale School of Medicine.

Dr. Galvani also serves as director of the Center for Infectious Disease Modeling and Analysis. She holds a bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. from the University of Oxford in England.

Harrison-FionaFiona Harrison was named to the Kent and Joyce Kresa Leadership Chair in the Division of Physics, Mathematics, and Astronomy at the California Institute of Technology. She joined the CalTech faculty in 1995.

Professor Harrison holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of California, Berkeley.

Seung-kyung Kim

Seung-kyung Kim was appointed as the inaugural holder of the Korea Foundation Chair in Korean Studies at the University of Indiana at Bloomington. She will also serve as director of the new Institute on Korean Studies and as professor of East Asian languages and cultures. Dr. Kim was director of the Center for East Asian Studies and chair of the department of women’s studies at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Professor Kim is the author of several books including The Korean Women’s Movement and the State: Bargaining for Change (Routledge, 2014). She holds a Ph.D. in anthropology from the City University of New York.

Sue-WesslerSusan R. Wessler was appointed to the Neil A. and Rochelle A. Campbell Presidential Chair for Innovation in Science Education at the University of California, Riverside. She is a professor of genetics in the department of botany and plant sciences at the university. Dr. Wessler is the co-author of Mutants of Maize (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, 1997).

Professor Wessler is a graduate of Stony Brook University of the State University of New York System. She earned a Ph.D. at Cornell University.

sealeyVicki Sealey was appointed the Russell and Ruth Bolton Eberly College Professor at West Virginia University. She teaches in the department of mathematics and specializes in mathematics education.

Dr. Sealey is a graduate of West Virginia University. She earned a master’s degree in applied mathematics at the University of Washington and a Ph.D. in mathematics at Arizona State University.

Cohen-LisaLisa Cohen, associate professor of English, was appointed to the Douglas J. and Midge Bowen Bennet Chair at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. Dr. Cohen joined the university’s faculty in 2007. She is the author of All We Know: Three Lives (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 2012).

Dr. Cohen is a graduate of Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply