Two Women Scholars Share the Highest Honor of the Association for Psychological Science

New_APS_logoRoberta Golinkoff of the University of Delaware and Kathryn Hirsh-Pasek of Temple University in Philadelphia are sharing the James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award, the highest honor given by the Association for Psychological Science. The award honors “a lifetime of outstanding contributions to applied psychological research.” The two women scholars have collaborated on many research projects involving developmental psychology in infants and young children. The pair have participated together in many book projects including How Babies Talk: The Magic and Mystery of Language in the First Three Years (E.P. Dutton, 1999) and Einstein Never Used Flashcards: How Our Children Really Learn– And Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less (Rodale Books, 2003).

golinkoff_photoProfessor Golinkoff holds the Unidel H. Rodney Sharp Chair in the School of Education at the University of Delaware. She holds joint appointments in the department of psychological and brain sciences and the department of linguistics and cognitive science. Dr. Golinkoff is also the director of the Child’s Play Learning and Development Lab at the university. She joined the faculty at the University of Delaware in 1974. Professor Golinkoff is a graduate of Brooklyn College. She holds a Ph.D. in developmental psychology from Cornell University.

Hirsch_PasekKathryn Hirsh-Pasek is a professor and Debra and Stanley Lefkowitz Faculty Fellow in the department of psychology at Temple University. She is also the director of the Temple Infant and Child Laboratory. Professor Hirsh-Pasek joined the Temple University faculty in 1987. Earlier in her career, she taught at Haverford College and Swarthmore College, both in suburban Philadelphia, and at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Dr. Hirsh-Pasek is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh, where she double majored in psychology and music. She holds a Ph.D. in human development and psycholinguistics from the University of Pennsylvania.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply