Four Women Scholars Presented With Notable Awards

Songi Han_ENHSongi Han, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and professor of chemical engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara, is the recipient of the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Prize from the Humboldt Foundation in Germany. Accompanying the prize is an award of 45,000 Euros.

Dr. Han joined the faculty at the University of California, Santa Barbara in 2004. She holds a Ph.D. from Aachen University of Technology in Germany.

marti_riceMarti Rice, professor in the School of Nursing at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, received the Leadership in Research Award from the Southern Nursing Research Society. She has been on the faculty at the university since 1997. Dr. Rice is the chair-elect of the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science.

Professor Rice is a graduate of Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. She holds a master’s degree in nursing from the Medical College of Georgia and a Ph.D. from Georgia State University in Atlanta.



Kim LaScola Needy, chair of the department of industrial engineering at the University of Arkansas, and Kellie Grasman, a lecturer in engineering management and systems engineering at the Missouri University of Science and Technology, are among five co-authors sharing the Book of the Year Award presented at the 2015 Industrial and Systems Engineering Research Conference. The winning book is Fundamentals of Engineering Economic Analysis (John Wiley & Sons, 2013).



Kellie Grasman holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering, an MBA, and master’s degrees in manufacturing engineering and industrial and operations engineering, all from the University of Michigan.

Professor Needy holds bachelor’s and master’s degree in industrial engineering from the University of Pittsburgh. She earned a Ph.D. in industrial engineering at Wichita State University in Kansas.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply