Prestigious Honors for Six Women at American Universities

Barb_oakleyBarbara Oakley, professor of engineering at Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan, received the Chester F. Carlson Award from the American Society for Engineering Education. The award honors innovation in engineering education. Professor Oakley also received the Theo C. Pilkington Award from the society. This award honors exemplary work in bioengineering education.

Professor Oakley is a graduate of the University of Washington, where she majored in Slavic languages and literatures. She holds a master’s degree in electrical and computer engineering and a Ph.D. in systems engineering from Oakland University.

cadamsThe board of regents at Morgan State University in Baltimore has named its University Honors Program in a tribute to Dr. Clara Adams, special assistant to the president of the university.

Dr. Adams is a member of the Class of 1954 at Morgan State and joined the faculty at the university in 1959. During her more than half century of service to the university, she has been vice president for academic affairs and dean of the School of Graduate Studies.

DischJoanne Disch, professor of nursing at the University of Minnesota, received the 2015 Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. The award honors Dr. Disch’s 45 years in practice and teaching.

Dr. Disch is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Alabama Birmingham and a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

greenmckenzieJudith Green-McKenzie, an associate professor of emergency medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania, received the 2015 Kehoe Award for Excellence in Education or Research in Occupational and Environmental Medicine from the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine.

Dr. Green-McKenzie is a graduate of Princeton University. She holds a master of public health degree from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore and a medical doctorate from the Yale University School of Medicine.

jackie_barton_credit_bob_pazJacqueline Barton, the Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor of Chemistry and chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, received the Gold Medal of the American Institute of Chemists. The award is the institute’s highest honor.

Professor Barton joined the faculty at CalTech in 1989. She holds a Ph.D. from Columbia University in New York City.

Herzog_EricaErica L. Herzog, an associate professor of medicine at the Yale School of Medicine, was presented with the Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science from the American Thoracic Society. She has been on the faculty at Yale since 2006.

Dr. Herzog earned a bachelor’s degree and a medical degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She also holds a Ph.D. in investigative medicine from Yale University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply