Four Women Named to Lead Academic Associations

marti_rice_webMarti Rice, professor of nursing at the University Alabama Birmingham, was elected chair of the Leadership Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science. She will serve as chair from 2015 to 2017. Dr. Rice has been on the faculty at the university since 1997.

Professor Rice is a graduate of Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. She holds a master’s degree from the Medical College of Georgia and a Ph.D. from Georgia State University.

DriscollMarcy Driscoll, dean of the College of Education at Florida State University, was appointed president of the Council of Academic Deans From Research Education Institutions. She will serve a two-year term.

Dean Driscoll has been on the faculty at Florida State since 1980. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Massachusetts, where she majored in psychology. Dr. Driscoll earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in psychology at the University of Massachusetts.

Janet_LindemannJanet Lindemann, dean of medical student education at the University of South Dakota, has been named chair-elect of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). The LCME is the national accrediting agency for medical education programs in the United States.

Dr. Lindemann is a graduate of Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. She earned her medical degree at the Medical College of Wisconsin. She has been dean at the University of South Dakota since 2001.

Jen_CushmanJennifer Cushman, dean of the Zanesville campus of Ohio University, was named president of the Association of International Education Administrators. She was named dean of the Zanesville campus in 2014. Earlier she was dean of international education and associate professor of German at Juniata College in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Cushman is a graduate of Rhodes College in Memphis, Tennessee. She earned a Ph.D. in German literature from Ohio State University.

Filed Under: LeadershipNews


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply