Four Women Scholars Who Have Won Prestigious Awards

hee-ohHee Oh, professor of mathematics at Yale University, has been selected to receive the 2015 Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize from the American Mathematical Society. The prize recognizes outstanding research in mathematics by a woman over the previous six years. Professor Oh will receive the award in January in San Antonio.

Professor Oh is a graduate of Seoul National University in Korea. She earned a Ph.D. in mathematics at Yale University.

cramondBonnie Cramond, a professor of educational psychology at the University of Georgia received the 2014 Distinguished Service Award from the National Association for Gifted Children. Professor Cramond has been on the faculty at the University of Georgia since 1989.

Dr. Cramond holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree from the University of New Orleans. She holds a Ph.D. in educational psychology from the University of Georgia.

haas_Ruth Haas, the Achilles Professor of Mathematics and Statistics at Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts, has been selected to receive the Humphreys Award from the Association for Women in Mathematics. She will receive the award in January in San Antonio.

Professor Haas earned a Ph.D. in operations research at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York.

Richards_TaraTara N. Richards, an assistant professor in the School of Criminal Justice at the University of Baltimore, received the 2014 New Scholar Award from the Division on Women and Crime of the American Society of Criminology. Dr. Richards is the co-author of Sexual Victimization: Then and Now (Sage, 2014).

Dr. Richards is a graduate of the University of Tennessee-Knoxville. She earned a master’s degree at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga and a Ph.D. at the University of South Florida in Tampa.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply