Vanderbilt University Appoints Three Women Faculty Members to Endowed Chairs

vanderbilt_logo_canvasVanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, has announced the appointment of nine faculty members to endowed professorships. Three of the appointments went to women. All three of the women appointed to endowed chairs are at the university’s School of Medicine.

DuganLaura L. Dugan was named to the Abram C. Shmerling M.D. Chair in Alzheimer’s and Geriatric Medicine. She joined the faculty at the university in April 2014 as director of the Division of Geriatric Medicine. Previously, she held the Larry L. Hillblom Chair in Geriatric Medicine at the University of California San Diego. Dr. Dugan received her bachelor’s degree in life sciences from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and her medical degree from The Ohio State University College of Medicine.

guttentaSusan H. Guttentag was appointed to the Julia Carell Stadler Chair in Pediatrics. Dr. Guttentag joined the faculty at the university in February 2014 as director of the Division of Neonatology. Previously, she was an associate professor of pediatrics at the Perleman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. She is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and earned her medical degree at the Medical College of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

THartertina V. Hartert was named to the Lulu H. Owen Chair in Medicine. Her research focuses on identifying and understanding how common environmental factors contribute to childhood wheezing illness. Dr. Hartert is the director of the Medical Scholars Program and director of the Center for Asthma and Environmental Health Research. She earned her medical degree and a master of public health degree from Vanderbilt University.


Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply