Six Women Presented With Prestigious Honors

FranklinChristine Franklin, the Lothar Tresp Honoratus Honors Professor of statistics at the University of Georgia, received the Founders Award from the American Statistical Association. She was honored for her leadership in curriculum development, teaching, research, and professional service.

Franklin has taught at the University of Georgia since 1989. She holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in mathematics and statistics from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

ppl-perloffMarjorie Perloff, the Florence R. Scott Professor of English Emerita at the University of Southern California and professor emerita at Stanford University, has been selected to receive the International Humanities Medal from Washington University in St. Louis. The award is given to an individual “whose humanistic endeavors in scholarship, journalism, literature or the arts have made a difference in the world.” She will be presented with the medal in St. Louis on October 22.

Professor Perloff is a graduate of Barnard College in New York City. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C.

magda-peck-wfbrhmMagda Peck, founding dean of the School of Public Health at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, received the 2014 National Excellence in Public Health Award from the Association of State and Territorial  Health Officials.

Dr. Peck is a graduate of Hahnemann University in Philadelphia. She holds a master’s degree and a doctorate in maternal and child health from Harvard University.

mcleodJane McLeod, professor of sociology at Indiana University in Bloomington, received the James R. Greenley Award from the Society for the Study of Social Problems. She also received the Leonard I. Pearlin Award from the American Sociological Association. Both awards recognize Professor McLeod’s contributions to the field of mental health.

Professor McLeod joined the faculty at Indiana University in 1998. Previously, she taught at the University of Minnesota and the University at Albany. She holds a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Michigan.

cookVanessa Cook, an associate professor in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Michigan State University, received the 2014 Educator of the Year Award from the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Cook earned bachelor’s, master’s, and veterinary medicine degrees at the University of Cambridge in England. She holds a master’s degree from Ohio State University and a Ph.D. from North Carolina State University.

maceJoan Mace, the first woman to chair the department of aviation at the Fritz J. and Delores H. Russ College of Engineering and Technology at Ohio University, received the Award of Achievement for Contribution to Aviation from the Ninety-Nines, an international organization of women pilots.

Here is a video discussing Professor Mace’s career.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply