Four Women Scholars Honored With Prestigious Awards

clark-newMargaret Clark, professor of psychology at Yale University, was named the 2014 International Association of Relationship Research Distinguished Career Awardee. The award honors individuals for a career of eminent notable contributions to the research, theories, or practice of relationship science.

Professor Clark joined the Yale faculty in 2005 after 28 years on the faculty at Carnegie Mellon University. She is a graduate of Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and earned a Ph.D. at the University of Maryland.

Kristen-Sanford-BernhardtKristen Sanford Bernhardt, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering at Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania, received the George K. Wadlin Distinguished Service Award from the Civil Engineering Division of the American Society of Engineering Education. She is the first woman to earn the honor in the 27-year history of the award.

Dr. Bernhardt holds a Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Maryam-MirzakhaniMaryam Mirzakhani, a professor of mathematics at Stanford University, is the recipient of the 2014 Clay Research Award from the Clay Mathematics Institute in Providence, Rhode Island.

Professor Mirzakhani has served on the Stanford faculty since 2008. She is a graduate of the Sharif University of Technology in Tehran, Iran, and earned a Ph.D. at Harvard University.

Libo-ShanLibo Shan, an associate professor of plant molecular biology at Texas A&M University, received the Charles Albert Shull Award from the American Society of Plant Biologists. She was honored for “impressive contributions to the field of plant-microbe interactions and plant immune signaling.”

Dr. Shan is a graduate of Beijing Normal University and holds a Ph.D. from Kansas State University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply