Department of Education Opens 12 New Sexual Assault Investigations

Dept_of_Education_LogoIn May the United States Department of Education published a list of 55 colleges and universities that were under investigation for possible violations of Title IX regarding sexual assault and/or harassment complaints.

In a statement issued at that time, Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights Catherine E. Lhamon said, “We are making this list available in an effort to bring more transparency to our enforcement work and to foster better public awareness of civil rights. We hope this increased transparency will spur community dialogue about this important issue.”

Now the department has announced that 12 additional colleges and universities are being investigated. All of these cases have been opened since May 1. The 12 educational institutions new to the list include the University of Alaska, the University of Akron, Berkelee College of Music, Cisco Junior College, Colorado State University, the University of Delaware, and Elmira College. Also new to the list of educational institutions under investigation are James Madison University, Morgan State University, Missouri University of Science and Technology, the University of Richmond, and Washburn University.

Filed Under: Sexual Assault/Harassment


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply