Two Women Scientists Are Granted Tenure at MIT

mitsealThe School of Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge has announced the granting of tenure to eight faculty members. Two of the eight faculty members granted tenure are women.

Tanja Bosak is the Hayes Career Development Associate Professor in the department of earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences. Her research is focused on the evolution of microbial life and environmental systems in the Precambrian era. After graduating with a bachelor’s degree in geophysics from the University of Zagreb, she served as a meteorologist at Zagreb International Airport. She then came to the United States to earn a Ph.D. in geobiology at the California Institute of Technology. She has been on the MIT faculty since 2007.

BoyerLaurie A. Boyer is the Irvin and Helen Sizer Career Development Associate Professor in the department of biology. Her research is concentrated on the various transcriptional mechanisms that regulate cell differentiation in mammals. Dr. Boyer joined the MIT faculty in 2007. She holds a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Massachusetts Medical School.


Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply