A Trio of Women Scholars in New Teaching Roles

OparilSuzanne Oparil was named Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the University of Alabama Birmingham. She has served on the faculty at the university since 1977.

Dr. Oparil, who received her medical training at Columbia University in New York City, is the past president of the American Federation for Medical Research, the American Heart Association, and the American Society of Hypertension.

SeaveyJenniferJennifer Seavey was named the director of the Shoals Marine Laboratory on Appledore Island off the coast of New Hampshire. The laboratory is a joint effort of Cornell University and the University of New Hampshire. Dr. Seavey will also serve on the faculty of the School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering at the University of New Hampshire. She was the assistant director of the Seahorse Key Marine Laboratory, a field station of the University of Florida.

Dr. Seavey earned a master’s degree in wildlife sciences at the University of Washington and a Ph.D. in natural resource conservation from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Debra-Ann-Mayes-12784-030-199x300Debra Ann Mayes was appointed an assistant professor of neuroscience, cell biology, and physiology at Wright State University in Detroit. Her research focuses on a genetic disease that produces tumors in the nerve cells of children.

Dr. Mayes is a graduate of Indiana University. She earned a Ph.D. in neuroscience and developmental biology at the University of Arkansas.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply