Four Women Scholars Presented With Awards

SonyaHorsfordpicSonya Douglass Horsford, associate professor of education at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia, received the 2013 Critics’ Choice Award from the American Educational Studies Association. She was honored for her book Learning in a Burning House: Educational Inequality, Ideology, and (Dis)Integration (Teachers College Press, 2011).

Dr. Horsford is a graduate of Colorado State University in Fort Collins. She holds a master’s degree and an educational doctorate from the University of Nevada at Las Vegas.

CollierBillie J. Collier, who has served as dean of the College of Human Sciences at Florida State University since 2006, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Board on Human Sciences of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities.

Dr. Collier, who will retire in January, is a graduate of Tulane University in New Orleans. She holds a master’s degree in textiles and clothing and doctorate in interdisciplinary home economics from the University of Tennessee.

HaggartJanice Haggart, an instructor in the department of veterinary and microbiological sciences at North Dakota State University, received the Excellence in College and University Teaching Award in the Food and Agricultural Sciences from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Haggart holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from North Dakota State University. She has served on the faculty at the university for 18 years.

WEB_derryberryVirginia Derryberry, professor and chair of the department of art at the University of North Carolina at Asheville, was honored for Outstanding Artistic Achievement by the Southeastern College Art Conference.

Professor Derryberry has taught at UNC-Asheville since 1996. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Vanderbilt University and a master of fine arts degree from the University of Tennessee.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply