Five Women Scholars Awarded Distinguished Honors

Lynne-Billard-30573-013Lynne Billard, a professor of statistics at the University of Georgia, has been selected to receive the 2013 Florence Nightingale David Award from the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies. The award recognized a woman statistician for contributions to education, science, and public service. Dr. Billard is a past president of the American Statistical Association and the International Biometric Association.

Professor Billard holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from the University of New South Wales in Australia.

Mary_Ann_Glendon_ambassadorMary Ann Glendon, the Learned Hand Professor of Law at Harvard University, received the Murray Excellence in Scholarship Award from Duquesne University. The award, honoring scholarship in comparative law, was established by an endowment fund created by John Murray Jr., chancellor and professor of law at Duquesne.

Professor Glendon is the former U.S. ambassador to the Vatican. She is the author of The Transformation of Family Law (University of Chicago Press, 1987) and Abortion and Divorce in Western Law (Harvard University Press, 1989). She holds a bachelor’s degree and two law degrees from the University of Chicago.

menesesKaren Meneses, associate dean for research at the University of Alabama Birmingham School of Nursing has been selected to receive the 2013 Ada Sue Hinshaw Award from the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research. She is being honored for her research on cancer survivors.

Dr. Meneses is a graduate of Georgetown University and holds master’s and doctoral degrees in nursing from Boston College.

vaughnMary L. Vaughn, assistant director of assessment and testing services at Mississippi State University in Starkville, is being honored with the 2013 Service Recognition Award from the National College Testing Association. The association has 1,900 members at more than 650 institutions.

Vaughn holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Mississippi State University and is completing work on a doctorate in technology education at the university.

Sheri_FritzSherilyn Fritz, the George Holmes University Professor in the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Nebraska, has been selected to receive the 2014 Hans Oeschger Medal from the European Geosciences Union. She will receive the award in Vienna in April. The medal is named after a Swiss scientist who pioneered ice core research techniques.

Professor Fritz holds a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply