Two MIT Scientists Awarded Top Honors

clark-sollinsKaren Sollins, a principal research scientist at the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is the recipient of the Test of Time Award from the Association for Computing Machinery. She, and three coauthors, are being honored for their 2002 article, “Tussle in Cyberspace: Defining Tomorrow’s Internet.” The award is given to articles published more than a decade ago that continue to be of value today.

Dr. Sollins is a graduate of Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania, where she majored in mathematics. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in computer science from MIT.

solomonSusan Solomon, the Ellen Swallow Richards Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry and Climate Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, received the 2012 Vetlesen Prize in earth sciences. Dr. Solomon will be honored for her research on the Earth’s ozone layer.

The prize is funded by the G. Unger Vetlesen Foundation and administered by the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory at Columbia University. Dr. Solomon will share this year’s award with Jean Jouzel, s French geoscientist. Each will receive $125,000.

Professor Solomon is a graduate of the Illinois Institute of Technology and holds a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply