Virginia Commonwealth University Honors Founders of the Equal Suffrage League

Anne C. Crenshaw

Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond unveiled a new historic marker outside Crenshaw House on its campus. On November 20, 1909, 18 women met at the home of Anne Clay Crenshaw to form the Equal Suffrage League. The organization, which lobbied to give women the right to vote, eventually had 100 chapters and had more than 30,000 members in Virginia. After the ratification of the 19th Amendment which gave women the right to vote, the organization became the League of Women Voters.

Virginia Commonwealth University purchased the Crenshaw home in the 1960s. The building now houses the Center for Public Policy and the Ph.D. program in public policy and administration.

For more on the movement and Anne Clay Crenshaw, click here.

Crenshaw House


Filed Under: Women's Studies


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply