Six Women Scholars Honored With Awards

Ann Veeck, professor of marketing at Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo, was named the winner of the 2012 Teaching Innovation Award from the Marketing Management Association. Professor Veeck was honored for her teaching concepts regarding the use of social media.

Dr. Veeck has been on the Western Michigan University faculty since 1999. She holds an MBA from the University of Georgia and a doctorate in business administration and management from Louisiana State University.

Ann Robinson, professor and coordinator of graduate programs in gifted education at the University of Arkansas Little Rock, was named the 2012 Distinguished Scholar by the National Association for Gifted Children. Dr. Robinson is the immediate past president of the association. The award will be presented at the association’s annual meeting in Denver later this month.

Dr. Robinson has been on the faculty at the University of Arkansas Little Rock since 1986. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Wyoming and a doctorate in educational psychology from Purdue University.

Kim R. Dunbar, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and the Davidson Professor of Science at Texas A&M University, has been selected as the inaugural recipient of the Eminent Scholar Award from the Texas A&M Women Former Students Network. The award was established in 2010 to recognize exceptional achievement. It comes with a $4,000 cash prize.

Dr. Dunbar joined the faculty at Texas A&M in 1999 after serving on the faculty at Michigan State University. A graduate of Westminster College, she holds a Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from Purdue University.

Robin L. Davisson, the Andrew Dickson White Professor of Molecular Physiology at Cornell University, received the 2012 Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Award from the American Heart Association. Professor Davisson joined the Cornell faculty in 2006 after teaching at the University of Iowa for eight years.

Dr. Davisson is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of Iowa. She holds a master’s degree in psychology and a doctorate in pharmacology, also from the University of Iowa.

Tyra W. Hilliard, associate professor of human environmental sciences at the University of Alabama, received the 2012 Educator of the Year Award from the Professional Convention Management Association.  Dr. Hilliard has been on the faculty at the University of Alabama since 2010. She previously taught at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas and George Washington University.

Dr. Hilliard is a graduate of Georgetown University and the law school at Georgia State University. She holds a master’s degree from George Washington University and a Ph.D. in hospitality management from Oklahoma State University.

Kathleen M. Rasmussen, professor of nutritional sciences at Cornell University, received the March of Dimes Agnes Higgins Award from the American Public Health Association.

Professor Rasmussen is a graduate of Brown University. She holds a master’s degree and a doctorate in nutrition from Harvard University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply