Six Women Scholars Honored With Prestigious Awards

Deborah A. Appleman, the Hollis L. Caswell Professor of Educational Studies and director of the Summer Writing Program at Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota, is the winner of the William Pearson Tolley Medal for leadership in lifelong learning, presented by the School of Education at Syracuse University in New York. She is being honored for her work to bring educational programs to inmates at correctional institutions.

Dr. Appleman holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees, all from the University of Minnesota.

Deborah Jin, a fellow of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and a member of the physics department faculty at the University of Colorado, has been named as a recipient of the L’Oreal-UNESCO for Women in Science Award. She will receive the award and $100,000 at a ceremony in Paris next spring.

Dr. Jin is a graduate of Princeton University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. She is a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a former winner of a MacArthur Foundation genius award.

Margaret Sayers Peden won the Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation from the PEN American Center. The medal is given out every three years for lifetime achievement in the field of translation. Dr. Peden is professor emerita of Spanish at the University of Missouri. Over her career, she has translated more than 65 books from Spanish to English.

Dr. Peden holds bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. degrees, all from the University of Missouri.

Lisa M. Hooper, an associate professor of counselor education at the University of Alabama, received the Dr. Linda Seligman Award from the American Mental Health Counselor Association. She has been on the faculty at the university since 2005.

Dr. Hooper is a graduate of the University of Maryland. She holds a master’s degree from Marymount University and a doctorate in counseling from George Washington University.

Sonia M. Carrizales, a doctoral candidate in psychology at Texas Woman’s University, was named student of the year by the American Psychological Association’s Section for the Advancement of Women.

Carrizales holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Texas and a master’s degree in counseling psychology from Texas Woman’s University.

Sherry Field, professor of curriculum and instruction and dean of the College of Education at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville, has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Jean Dresden Grambs Career Research in Social Studies Award, presented by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Dr. Field joined the Arkansas Tech faculty this fall. Previously, she was the Catherine Mae Parker Centennial Professor in Education and the associate dean for teacher education, student affairs, and administration in the College of Education at the University of Texas at Austin. A graduate of Texas Tech University, Professor Field holds a master’s degree from Stephen F. Austin University and a doctorate in curriculum and instruction from the University of Texas.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply