Linda Smith to Receive the 2013 Rumelhart Prize from the Cognitive Science Society

Linda B. Smith, Chancellor’s Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences at Indiana University in Bloomington, was named as the recipient of the 2013 David E. Rumelhart Prize. The prize, which comes with a cash award of $100,000, is given by the Cognitive Science Society, to an individual or group “making a significant contemporary contribution to the theoretical foundations of human cognition.” Professor Smith is only the second women to win the award. She will be honored at the society’s 2013 convention in Berlin.

Professor Smith has been on the Indiana University faculty since 1977. Her research focuses on perception and language development in young children. She is the co-author of A Dynamic Systems Approach to the Development of Cognition and Action (MIT Press, 1994). More information about her research is available here.

Dr. Smith is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin at Madison. She earned a Ph.D. at the University of Pennsylvania.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply