Seven Women Honored With Prestigious Awards

Susan W. Stinson, interim dean of the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, received the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Dance Education Organization. She has been a full-time faculty member in the department of dance at UNCG since 1979.

Dr. Stinson is a magna cum laude graduate of Hood College in Frederick, Maryland. She holds a master’s degree in dance education from George Washington University and an educational doctorate from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Denise M. Linton was selected as the Nurse Educator of the Year by the National Black Nurses Association. The association represents about 150,000 Black nurses in the Unites States, the Caribbean, and in Africa. The association has 84 chapters in 40 U.S. States.

Dr. Linton will be honored at the organization’s upcoming annual convention in Orlando, Florida. She is the Dudley Joseph Plaisance Sr. BORSF Professor of Nursing at the University of Louisiana Lafayette’s College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions. Dr. Linton holds a doctor of nursing science degree from the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center.

Lesley Wellman, the Hood Foundation Curator of Education at the Hood Museum of Art at Dartmouth College, was named the 2012 National Museum Art Educator of the year by the National Art Education Association. She has been on the staff at the Hood Museum since 1990.

Responding to news of the award, Wellman commented, “I feel deeply honored to receive this award, particularly because the nomination and evaluation of candidates is done by peers from art museums across the country.”

Sandra Cesario, professor of nursing at Texas Woman’s University’s Institute of Health Sciences in Houston, received the 2012 Distinguished Professional Service Award from the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric, and Neonatal Nurses.

Dr. Cesario is a graduate of Fort Hays State University in Kansas. She earned a master’s degree at the University of Oklahoma and a doctorate in nursing from Texas Woman’s University.

Mary Hughes, landscape architect at the University of Virginia, will receive the LaGasse Medal from the American Society of Landscape Architects. She will receive the award at the society’s annual meeting in Phoenix this fall.

Hughes has served in her present position since 1996. She is a graduate of the University of Virginia’s School of Architecture.

Rita Colistra, assistant professor of public relations in the School of Journalism at West Virginia University, received the Promising Professor Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

Dr. Colistra holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in journalism from West Virginia University and a Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina.

Kim Needy, the Twenty-First Century Professor in Engineering at the University of Arkansas, received the Distinguished Service Award in Industrial Engineering from the American Society for Engineering Education.

Dr. Needy holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Pittsburgh. She earned a Ph.D. at Wichita State University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply