Eight Women in Academia Honored With Prestigious Awards

Isabel Wilkerson, professor of journalism and director of narrative nonfiction at Boston University, received the Stephen E. Ambrose Oral History Award from the Rutgers University Living History Society. Professor Wilkerson was honored for her book The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration (Random House).

A graduate of Howard University, Professor Wilkerson has also taught at Emory University, Princeton University, and Northwestern University.

Linda Campbell, a professor in the department of counseling and human development services and director of the Center for Counseling at the University of Georgia, received the 2012 Education Advocacy Distinguished Service Award from the American Psychological Association.

Dr. Campbell has been on the faculty of the University of Georgia since 1988. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from West Virginia University and a Ph.D. in counseling psychology from Georgia State University.

Valerie Romero-Leggott, vice chancellor for diversity at the Health Science Center at the University of New Mexico, received the Hispanic Health Leadership Award from the National Hispanic Medical Association.

Dr. Romero-Leggott is a graduate of Harvard University and the University of New Mexico School of Medicine.

Margot Weiss, an assistant professor of American studies and an assistant professor of anthropology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut, is a finalist in the LGBT category for the 24th Annual Lambda Literary Awards. She is being honored for her book, Techniques of Pleasure: BDSM and the Circuits of Sexuality (Duke University Press).

Dr. Weiss has been on the faculty at Wesleyan since 2008. She is a graduate of the University of Chicago and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in cultural anthropology from Duke University.

Darra Goldstein, the Francis Christopher Oakley Third Century Professor of Russian at Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts, received the 2012 Journalism Award for Publication of the Year from the James Beard Foundation. Professor Goldstein was honored for the quarterly journal Gastronomica, of which she is the founding editor and editor-in-chief.

Professor Goldstein has been on the Williams College faculty since 1983. She is a graduate of Vassar College and holds a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Tracy L. Bale, associate professor of neuroscience at the University of Pennsylvania’s School of Veterinary Medicine and an assistant professor at the university’s School of Medicine, was awarded the Medtronic Prize for Scientific Contributions to Women’s Health from the Society for Women’s Health Research.

Dr. Bale is a graduate of Washington State University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Washington.

Julie Zimmerman, associate professor of green engineering at Yale University, has been selected to receive the Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize from the American Society of Civil Engineers. She will receive the award at the annual conference of the society in Montreal this October. The society is honoring her research on developing cost-effective water purification systems.

Dr. Zimmerman joined the Yale faculty in 2007. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

Mina Jones Jefferson, assistant dean and director of the Center for Professional Development at the University of Cincinnati College of Law, received the 2011-2012 President’s Award at the annual meeting of the National Association for Law Placement.

Jefferson is a graduate of Miami University in Ohio and the University of Cincinnati College of Law.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply