Two Women Scholars Win the Bancroft Prize

Columbia University has announced three winners of the Bancroft Prize, considered one of the most prestigious awards in academic history. Three books were selected for the honor and the authors will receive a $10,000 cash prize at the award ceremony in April. Two of the three award-winning authors are women scholars.

Anne F. Hyde, professor of history at Colorado College, was honored for her book, Empires, Nations, and Families: A History of the North American West, 1800-1860 (University of Nebraska Press).

Professor Hyde has been on the faculty at Colorado College since 1991. She is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

Another Bancroft winner is Tomiko Brown-Nagin, the T. Munford Boyd Professor of Law and Justice Thurgood Marshall Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of Virginia Law School. She was honored for her book, Courage to Dissent: Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement (Oxford University Press).

Professor Brown-Nagin is a graduate of Furman University in South Carolina and the Yale Law School. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Duke University.

Here is a video of Professor Brown-Nagin discussing her book.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply