Nine Women Who Are Assuming New Duties in Higher Education

Jody Brylinsky was appointed associate provost for institutional effectiveness at Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo. The appointment is effective on April 1.

Dr. Brylinsky is a professor of health, physical education, and recreation at the university. She joined the Western Michigan faculty in 1991. Professor Brylinsky holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Elizabeth McBride was named director of development at the Carilion School of Medicine and Research Institute at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. She was senior development manager for the Memorial Health Foundation in Savannah, Georgia.

McBride is a graduate of the University of Georgia, where she majored in public relations. She holds an MBA from Georgia Southern University.

Pamela M. Mitchell, was named interim dean of the University of Washington School of Nursing. She is a professor of biobehavioral nursing and health systems.

Dr. Mitchell joined the faculty at the University of Washington in 1969. She is the founding director of the university’s Center for Health Sciences Interprofessional Education and Research. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Washington.

Jan L. Hewett was appointed director of the Human Research Protection Program at Yale University. The office ensures that Yale researchers adhere to high ethical standards in conducting research with human subjects. Since 2006, she has been director of the Institutional Review Board for Human Subjects Research at the University of Michigan Medical School.

A native of Australia, Hewett is a graduate of the Georgetown University School of Nursing and the University of Michigan Law School.

Joyce Berry, dean of the Warner College of Natural Resources at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, was elected president of the Council of Environmental Deans and Directors. She is serving a two-year term in the post.

Dean Berry, a graduate of Colorado State, also serves as a professor in the department of human dimensions of natural resources. She has been dean since 2009.

Jocelyn Ann Dorscher was named associate dean of student affairs and admissions at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences. She was director of the Center of American Indian and Minority Health and an assistant professor of family medicine and community health at the University of Minnesota Medical School.

A graduate of the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, she earned her medical degree at the University of Minnesota.

Carla M. Koretsky, a professor of geosciences at Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo, was named associate dean of Lee Honors College at the university.

Dr. Koretsky joined the faculty at WMU in 2000. She is a graduate of Washington University in St. Louis and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in earth and planetary sciences from Johns Hopkins University.

Camilla Benbow, the Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development at the Peabody College of Education at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, was named co-chair of the newly formed Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation. The council was formed through the merger of the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council.

Dean Benbow has taught at Vanderbilt since 1998. She previously served on the faculties of Iowa State University and Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Benbow holds a bachelor’s degree, two master’s degrees, and an educational doctorate, all from Johns Hopkins University.

Lora Volden is the new registrar at the University of Alaska at Anchorage. She joined the staff at the university in 2001 and most recently was associate registrar.

Volden is a graduate of St. Cloud State University in Minnesota and holds a master of counseling degree from Idaho State University.

Filed Under: Appointments


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply