Three Women Scholars Win Prestigious Awards

Patricia G. Greene, who holds the Paul T. Babson Chair in Entrepreneurial Studies at Babson College in Wellesley, Massachusetts, received the John E. Hughes Award for Entrepreneurial Advocacy from the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship.

Professor Greene has been a leader in promoting entrepreneurship among women and minorities. She is the co-founder of the Diana Project, a research group focusing on women in the venture capital industry.

A graduate of Pennsylvania State University, Professor Greene earned an MBA from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas and a Ph.D. from the University of Texas.

Alice Y. Ting, the Ellen Swallow Richards Associate Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been selected to receive the Vilcek Foundation Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science. Professor Ting, who has been on the faculty at MIT since 2002, will receive a $25,000 award.

Dr. Ting is a native of Taiwan and a graduate of Harvard University. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

Maureen Johnson, an assistant professor of health sciences in the College of Nursing, Health, and Human Services at Indiana State University, will receive the 2012 AAHE/HEDIR Technology Award from the American Association for Health Education. She will receive the award at the association’s annual convention in Boston in March.

Dr. Johnson is a graduate of Duquesne University in Pittsburgh. She holds master’s and doctoral degrees in health education from Southern Illinois University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply