Awards for Eight Women Scholars

Bevlee Watford, associate dean for academic affairs at the College of Engineering at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, has been selected to receive the 2012 President’s Award from the National Association of Multicultural Engineering Program Advocates. She will accept the award at the association’s annual meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona, later this month.

Dean Watford also serves as the director of the Center for Enhancement of Engineering Diversity at Virginia Tech. She holds bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. degrees in engineering from Virginia Tech.

Nalini Nadkarni, professor of biology and director of the Center for Science and Math Education at the University of Utah received the Public Engagement With Science Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She was honored for “her unique, persistent and innovative public engagement activities that have served to raise awareness of environmental and conservation issues with a broad and exceedingly diverse audience.”

Dr. Nadkarni is a graduate of the University of British Columbia. She earned her Ph.D. at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Jane Grande-Allen, associate professor of bioengineering at Rice University in Houston, received the Established Investigator Award from the American Heart Association. The award comes with a five-year research grant for Dr. Grande-Allen to continue her work on the study of heart valves.

Dr. Grande-Allen is a graduate of Transylvania University in Lexington, Kentucky. She holds a Ph.D. in bioengineering from the University of Washington.

Paula Rae Heusinkveld, professor emerita of Spanish at Clemson University in South Carolina, received the Nelson Brooks Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Culture from the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. Professor Heusinkveld taught at Clemson for 29 years before retiring last June.

Professor Heusinkveld is the editor of Pathways to Culture: Readings on Teaching Culture in the Foreign Language Class (Intercultural Press) and author of Inside Mexico: Living, Traveling, and Doing Business in a Changing Society (John Wiley & Sons).

Deborah K. Steinberg, a professor at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, was honored by being selected to give the Sverdrup Lecture at the meeting of the ocean sciences section of the American Geophysical Union. Being designated to give lecture is one of the highest honors bestowed by the group. She will give the Sverdrup lecture in February in Salt Lake City.

Professor Steinberg is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Barbara. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of California at Santa Cruz.

Jean Langenheim, professor emerita of ecology and evolutionary biology at the University of California Santa Cruz, was awarded honorary membership in Sigma Delta Epsilon, an honorary society of graduate women in science.

Professor Langenheim was first woman faculty member in the natural sciences at UC-Santa Cruz and the first woman to be promoted to full professor. She was also the first woman to serve as president of the Association for Tropical Biology and the first woman president of the International Society of Chemical Ecology.

Susan Henry, professor of molecular biology and genetics at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, received the 2012 Distinguished Service Citation, the highest honor bestowed by the New York State Agricultural Society. Dr. Henry is also the Ronald P. Lych Dean Emerita of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell.

Dr. Henry received her bachelor’s degree in zoology from the University of Maryland and her Ph.D. degree in genetics from the University of California at Berkeley.

Marsha Glines, dean of the Institute for Achievement and Learning at Lynn University in Boca Raton, Florida, has been selected to receive the 2012 Lewis Hine Award for Service to Children and Youth from the National Child Labor Committee. She will be presented the award in New York City on January 30.

Dean Glines is a graduate of Emerson College. She holds a master’s degree from Lesley University and a doctorate from Union Institute.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply