The Three Finalists for President of Joliet Junior College Are All Women

Joliet Junior College in Illinois has announced three finalists to become the next president of the two-year institution. Gena Proulx, who was president of the college since 2006, died in August after a battle with cancer. She was Joliet’s first woman president.

The three finalists for president are all women. All three are currently community college presidents.

Debra Daniels is the president of San Bernardino College in California. She is a graduate of Ferris State University in Michigan and holds a master’s degree and an educational doctorate from the University of Illinois.

Maureen Murphy is president of San Jacinto College South in Texas. Previously she was vice president of instruction and student development at Rappahannock Community College in Virginia. Dr. Murphy is a graduate of the University of Louisville. She holds a master’s degree in English from the University of Missouri and a Ph.D. in American studies from Saint Louis University.

Patricia Adkins is president of Yuba College in California. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Southern Illinois University and a doctorate in educational administration from Illinois State University.

The board of trustees of Joliet Junior College is expected to make its decision later this month.

Update: Debra Daniels was selected as president. She will take office on March 1.

Filed Under: Leadership


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply