Lois Curfman McInnes Wins Department of Energy Honor

Lois Curfman McInnes, a computational scientist at the Argonne National Laboratory operated by the University of Chicago, was named as a winner of a 2011 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award for “outstanding contributions in research and development supporting the Department of Energy and its mission.” The award was established in 1959 and is named after the scientist who invented the cyclotron.

Nine scientists were honored with the award this year. Dr. McInnes is the only woman in the group. Dr. McInnes, along with her partner in research Barry F. Smith, are being honored for their work in software development that the Department of Energy uses in simulation models.

Dr. McInnes is a summa cum laude graduate of Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania. She holds a Ph.D. in applied mathematics from the University of Virginia.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply