Two Women Named to Endowed Chairs at Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, recently named 10 faculty members to endowed chairs. Two of the 10 new chair holders are women.

Beth Ann Malow was named to the Burry Chair in Cognitive Childhood Development. Before joining the faculty at Vanderbilt, she was a tenured associate professor of neurology at the University of Michigan where she was director of the Sleep Medicine Fellowship Program.

Dr. Malow is a graduate of Northwestern University and the Northwestern University Medical School. She also holds a master’s degree in clinical research design and statistical analysis from the University of Michigan.

Marilyn Friedman is the W. Alton Jones Chair in Philosophy. Professor Friedman studies political philosophy, ethics, and feminist theory. She is the author of Autonomy, Gender, Politics: Studies in Feminist Philosophy (Oxford University Press, 2003) and What Are Friends For? Feminist Perspectives on Personal Relationships and Moral Theory (Cornell University Press, 1993).

Professor Friedman is a graduate of Washington University. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Western Ontario.

Filed Under: Appointments


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply