Women Honored for Their Work in Political Science

L to R: Jane Mansbridge, Cristina Beltrán, Frances Rosenbluth, and Marjorie Randon Hershey.

The American Political Science Association has announced its annual awards which will be presented at the association’s annual meeting in Seattle, Washington, in September. Among the award winners are several women scholars including:

Jane Mansbridge, the Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, will received the James Madison Award and Lectureship, which recognizes an American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.

Professor Mansbridge has been on the Harvard faculty since 1996. She previously taught at Northwestern University and the University of Chicago. She is a graduate of Wellesley College and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Harvard. She is the author of the award-winning book, Why We Lost the ERA (University of Chicago Press.)

Cristina Beltrán, an associate professor in the department of social and cultural analysis at New York University, will receive the Ralph J. Bunche Award for the best scholarly work in political science published in the previous calendar year that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism. She is being honored for her book The Trouble with Unity: Latino Politics and the Creation of Identity (Oxford University Press).

Dr. Beltrán is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Cruz and holds a Ph.D. in political science from Rutgers University.

Frances Rosenbluth, professor of political science  and deputy provost for the social sciences and for faculty development and diversity at Yale University, will share the Victoria Schuck Award for the best book published in the previous calendar year on women and politics. She, and coauthor Torben Iversen of Harvard University, are being honored for Women, Work & Politics: The Political Economy of Gender Inequality (Yale University Press).

A graduate of the University of Virginia, Professor Rosenbluth holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in political science from Columbia University.

Marjorie Randon Hershey, professor of political science at Indiana University, will receive the CQ Press Award for Teaching Innovation in Political Science. She is being recognized for her three-module graduate seminar designed to prepare students for the demands of teaching.

Professor Hershey has been on the faculty at Indiana University since 1974 and has served as a full professor since 1985. A graduate of the University of Michigan, she holds a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Wisconsin. She is the author of the textbook Party Politics in America (Pearson-Longman, 2011), now in its 14th edition.

Filed Under: Featured


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply