Three Notable Faculty Appointments

Jayathi Y. Murthy was named chair of the mechanical engineering department at the Cockrell School of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. The appointment is effective at the beginning of 2012. She will be the first woman to chair the department at the university.

Dr. Murthy has been serving as the Robert V. Adams Professor of mechanical engineering and director of the National Nuclear Security Agency’s Center for the Prediction of Reliability, Integrity, and Survivability of Microsystems at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Michelle Le Beau was named the Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor at the University of Chicago. She was a professor of medicine and human genetics at the university. Professor Le Beau has published more than 400 academic papers on genetic abnormalities associated with leukemia.

Dr. Le Beau is a graduate of Purdue University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in pathology from the University of Illinois.

Trudy Larson was appointed director of the School of Community Health Sciences at the University of Nevada in Reno. She has been serving as interim director for the past 10 months. Previously, she was associate dean, professor, and former chair of the department of pediatrics at the University of Nevada School of Medicine.

Dr. Larson received her medical training at the University of California at Irvine and completed her internship at the University of California Davis Medical Center.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply