Honors Bestowed on Five Academic Women

Joan Cronan, interim vice chancellor and director of athletics at the University of Tennessee, received the 2011 Carl Maddox Sports Management Award from the United States Sports Academy. Before recently being named interim vice chancellor and director of athletics, Cronan served as director of women’s athletics at the university since 1983. She is the former president of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

Donna Ratcliffe, director of career services at Virginia Tech, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Eastern Association of Colleges and Employers. Dr. Ratcliffe has served in the office of career services for 27 years, the last eight as director.

Dr. Ratcliffe is a graduate of the University of Maryland. She holds a master’s degree and an educational doctorate from Virginia Tech.

Juliet B. Schor, professor of sociology at Boston College, received the 2011 Herman Daly Award from the U.S. Society for Ecological Economics. She was honored for her research on work, leisure, and consumption. Her latest book is Plentitude: The New Economics of True Wealth (Penguin Press, 2010).

Professor Schor is a magna cum laude graduate of Wesleyan University. She holds a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Massachusetts.

Frances D. Fergusson, former president of Vassar College and former president of the board of overseers at Harvard University, received the Harvard Medal for outstanding service to the university.

Dr. Fergusson, who served as president of Vassar from 1986 to 2006, is a graduate of Wellesley College. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in art history from Harvard.

Erica Estus, clinical assistant professor of pharmacy at the University of Rhode Island, received the Leadership in Education Award from the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists.

Dr. Estus holds a bachelor’s degree and a doctorate in pharmacy from the University of Rhode Island.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply