Four Women Recognized for Extraordinary Achievements

Wendy Gillespie, a professor in the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University, was named the winner of the Thomas Binkley Award from Early Music America. The award is given for outstanding achievement in performance and scholarship by the director of a college or university early music ensemble.

Professor Gillespie has been on the faculty at the Jacobs School since 1985. She is president of the Viola da Gamba Society of America.

Meera Narasimhan, professor and interim chair of the department of neuropsychiatry and behavioral sciences at the medical school of the University of South Carolina, was given the Outstanding Academician Award from the Indo American Psychiatric Association.

Dr. Narasimhan is a graduate of Gandhi Medical College in Bhopal. She completed her internship at Columbia and her residency at Yale.

Jill Fitzgerald, who is retiring this month as a professor of literacy at the School of Education at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was elected into the Reading Hall of Fame of the International Reading Association.

Professor Fitzgerald joined the faculty at Chapel Hill in 1979. Upon her retirement from the university, she will continue her research at MetaMetrics, a psychometric research organization in Durham.

JoAnne Stubbe won the James R. Killian Jr. Faculty Achievement Award at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Stubbe is the Novartis Professor of Chemistry and Biology at MIT. Named after a former president of MIT, the award honors “extraordinary professional accomplishment by an MIT faculty member.”

Dr. Stubbe is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania. She earned a Ph.D. in organic chemistry at the University of California at Berkeley. She has served on the MIT faculty since 1987.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply