Three Women Named to Key Posts in Higher Education

Elaine Tuttle Hansen, who will step down in July as president of Bates College, the highly regarded liberal arts college in Maine, was named executive director of the Center for Talented Youth at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. She will begin her new assignment on August 1.

Dr. Hansen is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College and earned a master’s degree at the University of Minnesota and a Ph.D. at the University of Washington.

Jean Elizabeth Sander was named dean of the Center for Veterinary Health Sciences at Oklahoma State University. She will become dean on August 1. Currently, she is associate dean for academic and student affairs and professor at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Ohio State University.

Dr. Sander is a graduate of Elmhurst College in Illinois. She holds a master’s degree in avian medicine from the University of Georgia and a doctor of veterinary medicine degree from the University of Wisconsin.

Mary Ann Rankin, dean of the College of Natural Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin, was named president and CEO of the National Math and Science Initiative. Dr. Rankin, who has been on the faculty at the University of Texas since 1975, will assume her new post on August 1.

Dr. Rankin is a graduate of Louisiana State University. She holds a Ph.D. in physiology and behavior from the University of Iowa.


Filed Under: AppointmentsLeadership


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply