Universities Appoint a Trio of Women Scholars to Dean Positions

Teresa A. Beam will serve as the next dean of the School of Science, Engineering and Technology at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas. Dr. Beam will begin her appointment on June 5, 2023. Dr. Beam currently serves as the associate dean of academic programs at Manchester University in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Dr. Beam is a graduate of the University of Saint Francis in Fort Wayne, Indiana, where she majored in biology and chemistry. She holds a Ph.D. in molecular biology from the University of Notre Dame.

Oluwaranti “Ranti” Akiyode was named dean of the College of Pharmacy at Howard University in Washington, D.C. Dr. Akiyode has been serving as the interim dean of the College of Pharmacy since July 2022. She has taught at Howard University for 21 years.

Dr. Akiyode earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Jackson State University in Mississippi. She holds a bachelor’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences and a doctor of pharmacy degree from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy.

J. Meejin Yoon has been appointed to a second term as the Gale and Ira Drukier Dean of the College of Architecture, Art and Planning at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. She is the first woman to serve as dean of the college. Professor Yoon is the author of Public Works: Unsolicited Small Projects for the Big Dig (Map Book Publishers, 2008).

Professor Yoon is a graduate of Cornell University, where she majored in architecture. She holds a master of architecture degree in urban design from the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University.

Filed Under: Appointments


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply