Vanderbilt University’s Consuelo Wilkins Will Be Honored for Her Work in Promoting Health Equity

Consuelo Wilkins is the 2021 recipient of the Marion Spencer Fay Award from Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia. The national award recognizes women physicians and/or scientists who have made “an exceptionally significant contribution to health care.” Dr. Wilkins is being honored for her accomplishments in advancing health equity, for engaging underrepresented populations in research, and for her contributions to community-engaged research and health equity “that will positively impact health outcomes for generations,” award officials said.

Marion Spencer Fay served as dean and president of the Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania from 1946 to 1963 and promoted the recruitment, education, and recognition of women physicians. Established in 1963, the award currently is administered by the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership at Drexel University.

“I am deeply honored to receive the Marion Spencer Fay Award in recognition of tremendous work our team has done to advance health equity across research, health care delivery, and health sciences education,” Dr. Wilkins said. “Dr. Fay was a trailblazing leader,” she added, “and I am simply elated to join the distinguished group of women who have been recipients of this award in her honor.”

Dr. Wilkins is senior vice president for health equity and inclusive excellence at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center and senior associate dean for health equity and inclusive excellence in the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.

The award, which includes a $10,000 honorarium, will be presented to Dr. Wilkins during a ceremony at Drexel University College of Medicine on November 4. She also will deliver the annual Marion Spencer Fay Lecture.

A member of the National Academy of Medicine, Dr. Wilkins earned her bachelor’s and medical degrees from Howard University in Washington, D.C. She also earned a master’s degree in clinical investigation from the School of Medicine of Washington University in St. Louis.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply