Cheryl Oestreicher of Boise State University Honored by the Society of American Archivists

Cheryl Oestreicher, head of Special Collections and Archives and associate professor at Boise State University in Idaho, is the 2021 recipient of the Waldo Gifford Leland Award given by the Society of American Archivists. The award is given for writing “of superior excellence and usefulness in the fields of archival history, theory, and practice.”

Dr. Oestreicher was honored for her book Reference and Access for Archives and Manuscripts (Society of American Archivists, 2020). In her book, Dr.  Oestreicher incorporates history and theory to contextualize reference and access practices so that readers may recognize how these elements intersect, apply them in contemporary environments, and build upon them to advance the profession.

A news release from the SAA read: “As the profession continues to evolve, archivists can—and should —revise their approach to reference and access practices, with particular attention to removing barriers that prevent some people from accessing archives. Oestreicher effectively breaks down components of physical, virtual, and intellectual access; offers guidance for archivists encountering various accessibility, privacy, and legal challenges; and presents useful case studies and tools for evaluating reference programs.”

Dr. Oestreicher holds a master of library and information science degree from a joint program of Saint Catherine University and Dominican University. She earned a Ph.D. in modern history and literature from Drew University in Madison, New Jersey.

Filed Under: AwardsBooks


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply