Five Women Scholars Who Are Taking on New Roles at Colleges and Universities

Laurie Owen, a professor of education, was named vice president of academic affairs at Grace College in Winona Lake, Indiana. She has served as interim vice president of academic affairs for the past year.  Dr. Owen was dean of the college’s School of Education for 10 years.

Dr. Owen is a graduate of Eastern Illinois University, where she majored in elementary education. She earned a master’s degree from Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana, and a Ph.D. in early childhood education from Walden University.

Peggy Keiper, a professor in the School of Management at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, was given the added duties as interim director of athletics at the university. Dr. Keiper is an associate professor and director of the sport and recreation business program at the university.

Dr. Keiper holds a master’s degree from Lynn University in Boca, Raton, Florida, and a doctorate in sports administration from the Univerity of New Mexico.

Lori Martin was named the Erich and Lea Sternberg Honors Professor at Louisiana State University. Established in 1996, the professorship is the highest award conferred to faculty by the Ogden Honors College at the university. She is a professor of sociology and a professor of African and African American studies. Dr. Martin joined the faculty in 2013, after teaching at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York.

Professor Martin is a graduate of Fordham University in The Bronx, New York. She earned a master’s degree in applied public affairs at the University at Buffalo and a Ph.D. in sociology from the University at Albany of the State University of New York System.

Diane Marie Amann, the Emily and Ernest Woodruff Chair in International Law in the School of Law at the University of Georgia has been named a Regents Professor. The honor is reserved for faculty whose scholarship or creative activity is recognized both nationally and internationally as innovative and pace-setting. She joined the law school’s faculty in 2011.

Professor Amann is a graduate of the University of Illinois. She earned a master’s degree at the University of California, Los Angeles and a juris doctorate from Northwestern University.

Stacy L. Leeds has been appointed Foundation Professor of Law and Leadership for the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University. A citizen of the Cherokee Nation, Professor Leeds was named the dean of the University of Arkansas School of Law in 2011. Most recently, she was the vice chancellor for economic development, dean emeritus, and a professor at the University of Arkansas.

Professor Leeds holds a master of laws degree from the University of Wisconsin and a juris doctorate from the University of Tulsa. She later obtained an MBA from the University of Tennessee.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply