Three Women Professors to Be Honored by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy recently announced that three women scholars are receiving awards from the association for their outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, research, patient outcomes, community service and publication. Recipients will be honored at the association’s annual meeting, scheduled to be held this July in Long Beach, California

  • Gayle A. Brazeau, a professor and dean of the School of Pharmacy at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia, will receive the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award recognizing her outstanding achievements as an educator and mentor, her innovations in the classroom, and her overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession. Professor Brazeau holds a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and a master’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Toledo in Ohio. She earned a Ph.D. in pharmaceutics at the University at Buffalo of the State University of New York System.
  • Betty Chewning, a professor of pharmacy at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, will receive the Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research, recognizing her innovative and impactful research in the areas of social determinants of health, patient communications, and the medication use experience. Professor Chewning is a graduate of the University of Chicago. She earned a Ph.D. in educational psychology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Kim L.R. Brouwer, the William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor and associate dean of the School of Pharmacy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, will receive the Volwiler Research Achievement Award recognizing her record of sustained excellence in drug metabolism and transport research. She joined the university’s faculty in 1986. Professor Brouwer earned a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from Oregon State University. She earned a pharmacy doctorate and a Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences/pharmacokinetics at the University of Kentucky.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply