Three Women Scholars Who Have Been Appointed to Endowed Chairs

Sharlene Newman has been named a Class of 1948 Herman B Wells Endowed Professor at Indiana University. She is also a professor of psychological and brain sciences, director of the neuroscience program, and associate vice provost for undergraduate education.

Dr. Newman is a graduate of Vanderbilt University in Nashville, where she double majored in electrical engineering and mathematics. She holds a Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Alondra Nelson has been named a professor and the Harold F. Linder Chair in the School of Social Science at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey. She currently serves as a professor of sociology at Columbia University. She is the author of the award-winning book Body and Soul: The Black Panther Party and the Fight Against Medical Discrimination (University of Minnesota Press, 2011) and a co-editor of Genetics and the Unsettled Past: The Collision of DNA, Race, and History (Rutgers University Press, 2012) and Technicolor: Race, Technology, and Everyday Life (New York University Press, 2001). Her most recent book is The Social Life of DNA: Race, Reparations, and Reconciliation After the Genome (Beacon Press, 2016).

Dr. Nelson is a manga cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of California, San Diego. She holds a Ph.D. in American studies from New York University.

Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio has been named the John J. Lee Professor of Engineering at Yale University. She has served as a Yale faculty member since 2017.

Dr. Kramer-Bottiglio is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. She holds a Ph.D. in engineering sciences from Harvard University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply