New Faculty Roles at College and Universities for Seven Women Scholars

Beatriz Colomina has been named the Howard Crosby Butler Professor of the History of Architecture at Princeton University. She has been a faculty member at Princeton since 1988.

Dr. Colomina holds a Ph.D. from the Escola Técnica Superior de Arquitectura de Barcelona in Spain.

Amy Shelton has been named interim director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth in Baltimore. She has been director of research at the center since 2013 and has been a Johns Hopkins faculty member since 2002.

Dr. Shelton holds a master’s degree and Ph.D. both in cognitive psychology from Vanderbilt University in Nashville.

Sarah Becker has been named director of the Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership at Louisiana State University. She is an associate professor of sociology and of women’s and gender studies. Dr. Becker has been a faculty member at the university since 2008.

Dr. Becker is a summa cum laude graduate of Briar Cliff University in Iowa where she double majored in sociology and writing. She holds a master’s degree and Ph.D. both in sociology from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Anne Skaja Robinson has been named head of the department of chemical engineering at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. She was chair of the department of chemical and biomolecular engineering at Tulane University in New Orleans.

Dr. Robinson holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in chemical engineering from Johns Hopkins University and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois.

Ellen Meara has been named the Peggy Y. Thomson Professor in the Evaluative Clinical Sciences at the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire. She has been a Dartmouth faculty member since 2010.

Dr. Meara holds a bachelor’s degree in mathematical methods for social sciences and political science from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, and a Ph.D. in economics from Harvard University.

Sonia M. Gipson Rankin has been named an assistant professor of law at the University of New Mexico School of Law. She has served as associate dean for curriculum and program development in University College and as a senior lecturer in Africana Studies at the university.

Professor Gipson Rankin holds a bachelor’s degree from Morgan State University in Baltimore and a juris doctorate from the University of Illinois College of Law.

Rianna Lloyd has been named director of the Power of Nursing at the Remen Institute for the Study of Health and Illness at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine in Dayton, Ohio. She was a clinical nurse manager at the Kettering Medical Center in Ohio.

Dr. Lloyd holds a bachelor’s degree in education from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, and a master’s degree in nursing and a doctorate of nursing practice degree in nurse executive leadership from Ohio State University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply