Four Women Faculty Members Receive Notable Awards

M. Cynthia Logsdon, professor in the School of Nursing at the University of Louisville, received the 2018 Award of Excellence in Scholarly Education from the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. The award honors members of the association who have made strides in scholarly nursing education, contributing to the knowledge base of women’s or neonatal health.

Dr. Logsdon is a graduate of Spaulding University in Louisville, Kentucky. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in nursing science at Indiana University.

Ming Fang He, a professor of curriculum studies in the College of Education at Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, was the recipient of the Mary Anne Raywid Award from the Society of Professors of Education. The award honors scholars who have made outstanding contributions to the study of education.

Dr. He is a graduate of Wuhan University in China, where she majored in English language and literature. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in education from the University of Toronto.

Karen Skolfield, a lecturer in the College of Engineering at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, is the winner of the 2018 Barnard Women Poets Prize, presented by Barnard College in New York City. The award honors the author of the best second collection of poetry by an American woman.

Skolfied was honor for her collection Battle Dress, which will be published by W.W. Norton & Company in 2019.  She earned a master of fine arts degree from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Ursula Emery McClure, a professor of architecture at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, was named as one of the 13 most innovative women architects in the world by ArchDaily, which bills itself as “the world’s most visited architecture website.” Professor McClure is the only American on the list.

Professor McClure is a graduate of Washington University in St. Louis. She earned a master of architecture degree at Columbia University in New York City.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply