A Quartet of Women Faculty Members Who Have Been Appointed to Endowed Chairs

Hui Wilcox, an associate professor of sociology at St. Catherine University in St. Paul Minnesota, was named to the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet Endowed Chair in Women’s Education at the university. Dr. Wilcox is a founding member of Ananya Dance Theater, an Indian American performance group based in Minneapolis.

Dr. Wilcox holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Minnesota.

Susanne Brenner was named a Boyd Professor at Louisiana State University. The Boyd Professorships, established in 1953, are the highest rank at the university and are awarded to faculty who have achieved national and international recognition for outstanding research, teaching, or other creative achievements.

Dr. Brenner holds a joint appointment with the department of mathematics and the Center for Computation and Technology. She holds a Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Michigan.

Karen Collins was appointed the Edward Burr Van Vleck Professor of Mathematics at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. She has served on the university’s faculty since 1986.

Dr. Collins is a graduate of Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts. She earned a Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Ellen Thomas, a University Professor in the College of Integrative Sciences at Wesleyan University, was named to the Harold T. Stearns Professorship. Her research is focused on climate change.

Professor Thomas holds a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree, and a Ph.D., all from the University of Utrecht in The Netherlands.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply