A Trio of Women Who Have Been Appointed to Endowed Chairs

Lyn Holley was named the inaugural holder of the Dr. Chuck Powell Professorship of Gerontology at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. She has been a professor of gerontology at the university since 2004. Earlier, she taught at the University of Kansas and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Professor Holley is a graduate of American University in Washington, D.C., where she majored in psychology. She holds a master of public administration degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

Jenia I. Turner was appointed the Amy Abboud Ware Centennial Professor in Criminal Law in the Dedman School of Law at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas. She joined the faculty at the law school in 2004.

Professor Turner is the author of Plea Bargaining Across Borders (Aspen Publishers, 2009). She is a graduate of Yale Law School, where she was the articles editor for the Yale Law Journal and the Yale Journal of International Law.

Lisa A. Cooper was named a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. She was serving as the James F. Fries Professor of general internal medicine at the university. Dr. Cooper is the founder and director of the Johns Hopkins Center to Eliminate Cardiovascular Health Disparities.

Professor Cooper is a graduate of Emory University in Atlanta and earned her medical degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She also holds a master of public health degree from Johns Hopkins University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply